Big Brothers Big Sisters Staff

Leading us in the right direction

Big Brothers Big Sisters staff is a compassionate and dedicated group of individuals, willing to do whatever it takes to help change children’s lives for the better.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of San Diego County


MAIN OFFICE:

4305 University Ave., Suite 300
 San Diego, CA 92105

Phone: (858) 536-4900
Fax: (858) 536-8255
Careers: HR@SDBigs.org

SWK 1

S. Wayne Kay, President & CEO

WayneK@SDBigs.org | (858) 536-4900 x222

Wayne has 30+ years’ experience leading a wide range of organizations primarily focused in the healthcare and life science industry.  His past executive management experiences have been in both entrepreneurial and larger global companies – private and publicly traded. Prior to coming to Big Brothers Big Sisters, Wayne served as President, CEO & Director of OncoGenesis, Inc., a cervical cancer screening company in the Silicon Valley.  Wayne has extensive not-for-profit executive and board leadership experience, with an emphasis on youth character and leadership development. As Board Chair for the Beta Theta Pi Foundation, he has led the raise of more than $40 million for education and leadership development programs in the not-for-profit sector. Wayne has the distinction of being a Lifetime National Trustee and Pacific Region Past Board Chair of Boys & Girls Club of America and Board Chairman of the Beta Theta Pi Foundation.  Wayne has a BS in Microbiology from Virginia Polytechnic Institute, a BS in Business Administration from the University of San Francisco and an MBA in Management/Finance from Pepperdine University. He and his wife, Susan, live in Carmel Valley.


Bonnie Campbell, Program Director

BonnieC@SDBigs.org | (858) 536-4900 x209

Bonnie came to Big Brothers Big Sisters of San Diego County in January 2008 with over 25 years experience in the Human Services field.  She served as Executive Director of a Domestic Violence organization and has worked in Child Protective Services, child and adolescent mental health services, Georgia State Court Victim Advocacy Programs, a teen clinic for pregnant girls and their families, and a Family Advocacy Program for military families at an overseas Air Force Base. She began her career at BBBS as a Match Support Specialist for Operation Bigs and served as the Program Manager for Military Mentoring Programs before being named Program Director.  Bonnie is originally from Hialeah, Florida and earned a Master’s Degree in Social Work at Florida State University.

sdr

Stephanie Dinnen-Reini, Director of Institutional Development

StephanieD@SDBigs.org | (858) 536-4900 x298

Stephanie Dinnen-Reini is an experienced grant writer, with nearly ten years prospecting and writing successful federal, private and corporate foundation grant proposals. Stephanie joined the staff in 2013 as a grant writer and quickly promoted to the role of Senior Manager within the development department. In 2016 she ascended to Director of Institutional Development overseeing all fund development, strategic new program development, and stewardship. Stephanie is a trained gerontologist, specializing in trauma and mental health care for older adult populations. Prior to joining BBBS, she worked at the Yale School of Medicine studying the dissemination and implementation of psychiatric treatments for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder; she has more than 20 peer-reviewed publications within the field of traumatic stress.

Stephanie holds a B.A. from Wittenberg University and an M.S. from the University of Massachusetts. She is a proud Navy wife and mother. Mentoring played a profound role in Stephanie’s adolescence and she works to honor that friendship everyday through her work with Big Brothers Big Sisters.

katiegardnerphoto-77

Tina Rose, Director of Marketing & Events

TinaR@SDBigs.org | (858) 536-4900 x206

A San Diego native, Tina brings two decades of experience in the non-profit sector, with a focus on youth serving organizations. Tina independently opened a Foster and Adoption branch office in San Diego, and then conducted all facets of the marketing and recruitment as the office grew. In 2004, she began her career with Big Brothers Big Sisters of San Diego County. Tina started working in the Program Department, and in 2005, she became the Marketing Director and continues to use her experience working with volunteers and children to advocate for the need for more caring mentors in San Diego. Tina works diligently with the BBBS Board and the greater community to build awareness of the need for more mentors and funding to support the life-changing programs offered by Big Brother Big Sisters. Tina graduated summa cum laude from Vanguard University and was a scholar athlete, playing four years of collegiate volleyball. Tina is active mentor and community volunteer. She supports various causes, such as the Sharp Mary Birch Hospital NICU, Voices for Children CASA program, Miracle Babies, and Flood Church. Tina and her husband Jeff have two children, Trevor and Laurel.

IMG_0159Mary Tucci, Facilities and Administration Manager

MaryT@SDBigs.org | (858) 746-9154

Mary joined Big Brothers Big Sisters of San Diego County in November of 2007 with over 25 years of experience in administrative management.  As Facilities and Administration Manager, Mary is responsible for board of directors administration, human resource administration and recordkeeping, IT and facilities management.  Prior experience includes working as data control manager for a government funded research program at USC School of Medicine and over 10 years in the environmental management industry in Long Beach and San Diego.  Prior to joining BBBS, she worked as sales administrator and price program manager for Karl Strauss Brewing Company.  Mary attended Long Beach City College, lives in Point Loma, enjoys traveling and spending time with friends and family in San Diego and Colorado.

 

Department Managers & Administrative Staff


Jayne Brennan
Development Specialist
JayneB@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x224
headshot-talia
Talia Hazard
Marketing & Events Manager
TaliaH@SDBigs.org
858-746-9116

Rebecca Zacharda
Accounting Assistant
RebeccaZ@SDBigs.org
 
Rhea Matthews
Bookkeeper
RheaM@SDBigs.org

Program Managers


Claudia Aldana Robles
Senior Program Manager, Bilingual
ClaudiaA@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x214

Edith Sánchez Cruz
Program Manager – Community Engagement, Bilingual
EdithS@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9170

Mariela Nuza Cohen
Senior Program Manager – Enrollment & Volunteer Initiatives, Bilingual
MarielaN@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x215

Program Staff


Anthony Cohen
Lead Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
AnthonyC@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x270
anthonyr
Anthony Reynoso
Match Support Specialist – High School Bigs & Bigs in School, Bilingual
AnthonyR@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9181

Ayaris Patino Rodriguez
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
AyarisPR@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9190
Brenda Suarez
Brenda Suarez
Customer Relations Specialist, Bilingual
BrendaS@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x213

Carmina Mireles
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
CarminaM@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9191
headshot-cheryl 
Cheryl Macias
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
CherylM@SDBigs.org
858-746-9175
headshot-desiree 
Desiree Nash
Match Support Specialist – Beyond School Walls
DesireeN@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9192
 
Gabriela Dotts
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
GabrielaP@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9156

Ginna Farrar
Operation Bigs Match Support Specialist – Camp Pendleton
GinnaF@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9178
Jacalyn Havard
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring
JacalynH@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9115
JeanetteAldanaPerry
Jeanette Aldana-Perry
Enrollment & Matching Specialist, Bilingual
JeanetteA@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x229
Karla Mendoza
Recruitment & Enrollment Specialist
KarlaM@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9174
Kelly Jensen
Match Support Specialist, Beyond School Walls
KellyJ@SDBigs.org
858-746-9189

Kelly Wakeland
Recruitment Specialist
KellyW@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9172
Kristen Tomolak
Enrollment & Matching Specialist
KristenT@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x280

LeliaBrady

Lelia Brady
Recruitment & Enrollment Specialist- Operation Bigs
LeliaB@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9173


Louie Evans
Customer Relations Specialist, Bilingual
LouieE@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 ext. 202

MaeBriseno

Mae Briseno
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
MaeB@SDBigs.org
(619) 453-6414

Mariana Mendez-Casanova
Big Futures Program Specialist, Bilingual
MarianaM@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9188

Melissa Serrano
Match Support Specialist – Sports Bigs, Bilingual
MelissaS@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9157

Micaela Ortiz
Family Support Specialist, Bilingual
MicaelaO@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x207


Miriam Davis 
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
MiriamI@SDBigs.org
(619) 987-1412
Rachel Fischel 
Rachel Fischel
Match Support Specialist – Operation Bigs
RachelF@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9184

Rocio Becerra
Enrollment & Matching Specialist, Bilingual
RocioB@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x296
headshot-sam 
Sam Mandler
Match Support Specialist – High School Bigs & Bigs in School
SamuelM@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9165

 
Teather Nichols
Enrollment & Matching Specialist, Bilingual
TeatherN@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x221
 
Yiasemah Brunette
Match Support Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
YiasemahB@SDBigs.org
(858) 746-9149

Zoey Martin
Enrollment & Matching Specialist – Community Mentoring, Bilingual
ZoeyM@SDBigs.org
(858) 536-4900 x216

Change this in Theme Options
Change this in Theme Options